South Landing Craft Centre, Queenston, Ontario, Canada.
- Media Type:
- Item Type:
- Black and white postcard of rustic in character, sixteen-room building "South Landing Craft Centre", showing mostly its side wall. This craft shop, situated on the bank of the Niagara River, was a major supplier to knitters as well as weavers and spinners for many years from 1953 until early 1980's.
- This frame building on Kent Street was built before 1827 by Thomas Dickson, one of the cousins of Robert Hamilton. Thomas Dickson was himself a prominent merchant, politician, and soldier. He fought with distinction in the War of 1812 as lieutenant-colonel in the 2nd Lincoln Militia.
By 1883, the Wadsworth family owned and operated the building as an inn "Frontier House." In 1910, the building was sold to Margaret Dressell and renamed Riverview Inn. The name was changed in 1947 to South Landing by a later owner. In 1953 Mrs. Rie Bannister, a weaver who had previously operated a weaving shop in Toronto, bought the building and changed the name to South Landing Craft Centre.
Today it is one of a few remaining old inns providing accommodation to many travellers.
"South Landing Craft Centre is situated on the bank of picturesque Niagara River, in the historic Village of Queenston, a short distance from a world-famous Niagara Falls. Telephone CAlfax 2-4216"
- F. H. Leslie, Limited.
- Place of Publication:
- Niagara Falls, Ontario
Width: 15.3 cm
Height: 10.2 cm
- Local identifier:
- Language of Item:
- Geographic Coverage:
- Huggins, Jean A. E. (1895-1989)
- Copyright Statement:
- Copyright status unknown. Responsibility for determining the copyright status and any use rests exclusively with the user.
Niagara-on-the-Lake Public Library
Agency street/mail address
10 Anderson Lane
P.O. Box 430
Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0