Office of Student Experience, 1961-2018
- Media Type:
- Item Types:
- Forms (Documents)
- ADMINISTRATIVE HISTORY
The Office of Student Experience (formerly Residences) was launched in January, 2012 to enhance formal collaboration between the student life program (housed in the Registrar's Office) and the residence life program. The Office of Student Experience will amalgamate the SJU Commons, Campus Ministry, Beyond U, and Residence Life Team into a single co-ordinated unit to promulgate student engagement into one model of student leadership and involvement. The Residence Manager took on the role of Director, Office of Student Experience; the Office of Student Experience encompasses resident, student life, and the planning, support, and management of all non-academic student activities; and Campus Ministry will continue to report directly to the President in addition to now having a direct and collaborate working relationship with the Office of Student Experience.
The Office of Student Experience administers the residences at St. Jerome's University. The men's residence opened on September 9, 1962 under the supervision of the Fathers of the Congregation of the Resurrection. In 1979 the supervision and administration of the residence was taken over by a Director of Residence who managed the budget and all administrative aspects of the residences including room allotment, physical plant, food services and conference operations.
On May 7, 1993 the men's residence was officially named the J.R. Finn Residence in honor of Fr. John Finn, C.R. who was a former Dean of St. Jerome's, its President from 1965 to 1972, and a professor of French.
Notre Dame College, the women's residence, opened in 1963 and was owned and administered by the School Sisters of Notre Dame until May 1, 1996 when it was sold to the University of St. Jerome's College. Notre Dame College was re-named Sweeney Hall in May, 1997 in honor of John Sweeney, a former Chancellor of St. Jerome's, and his wife, Kay.
SCOPE AND CONTENTS
This sub-group of records includes copies of the Residence House Council Constitution; agendas and minutes of House Council meetings; correspondence; conference business records; events sponsored by the Residence Office and Office of Student Experience; Charity Run records; handbooks;Orientation Week planning and schedules of events; residence Yearbooks; and an extensive file on AIDS education and awareness on campus.
There are also 7 framed Residence Dons photographs for the years 2007/2008 to 2015 with identification keys attached.
The records are arranged in 12 series:
1) Residence House Council Constitutions;
2) Residence House Council Meetings;
3) General Administrative records;
5) Conference Business;
6) Orientation Week;
7) Residence and Office of Student Experience
8) Residence Yearbooks;
9) Notre Dame College residence records;
10) The Charity Run;
11) Residence Handbook;
12) AIDS Education on Campus.
Descriptions for the series are available.
- Accruals: Further accruals are expected.
The glass on the Dons photograph for 2010-2011 is cracked on right hand side, from the middle to the bottom. (All photographs are in Oversize 2-2-2-03 except for 2010-2011 which is in 2-2-2-P4).
- Date of Publication:
- Corporate Name(s):
- St. Jerome's University
- St.Jerome’s College records
- Language of Item:
- Geographic Coverage:
- Physical Description:
- 77 cm. of textual records
- Copyright Statement:
- Copyright status unknown. Responsibility for determining the copyright status and any use rests exclusively with the user.
- Recommended Citation:
- SJU Archives
- Location of Original:
- 2-1-2-A8; 2-1-2-A9; 2-1-2-A29; 2-2-2-A47; 2-2-2-A52; 2-1-3-B26; 2-1-3-B36; 2-2-2-P4; 2-2-2-Oversize 03
- By permission of the Director of the Office of Student Experience.
St. Jerome's University Library
Agency street/mail address
290 Westmount Rd. N.
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G3
St. Jerome's University is located in Waterloo, Ontario, and is situated in the University of Waterloo. It was founded as St. Jerome's College in 1865 by the Congregation of the Resurrection. In 1959, it was granted university status and changed its name to the University of St. Jerome's College. It has been federated with the University of Waterloo since 1960. In 1998, the name was officially changed to St. Jerome's University.